Bye bye, buddy

Dear readers,

Sorry again, for not posting anything. Last time I told you my dog wasn’t doing well. He had cancer. Had. He passed away on August 21st, only a week after his seventh birthday. I wrote this on August 22nd.

 

Crying yourself to sleep is awful, but I did it last night. I also think it’s the first of many nights to come for a while. I had to put my dog to sleep yesterday. My buddy had cancer close to his lungs, which made it hard for him to breath, bark and eat. That’s not how the life of a dog is supposed to be. And to be honest, I saw it coming. I already thought I’d lost him a week ago.

Only a week after his seventh birthday, way too soon if you ask me. And I’m going to miss him., so so bad. I’ll miss the way his ears moved while drinking, the way he played with his towel and stray plastic bottles. The way he winked and the way he cried when he heard an ambulance. But mostly I’ll miss him when I come home and see he’s not there. I’m going to miss him getting on his chair when we told him to look after the house while we were gone. And I’m going to miss the noise he made when he saw me get off the bus after being away for a week.

He won’t be there when I come home from my week at school and he won’t be coming to me for a cuddle anymore.

I’m going to miss my buddy, but it’s better this way. No more pain and no more sickness. Peace at last.

I love you, Foufur. Bye bye baby.

 

You may think it’s cheesy. I don’t care. It’s how I felt at that moment and I was right. I do miss all those little things. I’m dazzled by the numerous times I expect him to walk in or hear him sigh. It’s so silent at home. So quiet. So empty.

 

Much love,

Sam